Home

Trees-Night-Stars--485x728

Once upon a time there was a man who had a little girl. He loved that little girl so much that if every star in the universe (and any other possible universes) was an “I love you,” that would only be a minute’s worth.

One day the man had to go away. He was sick. Sick in a very sad sort of way, and he needed his family to help him.

So he went very far away to where his family lived; but before he left, he took his little girl out to look at the night sky. He told her to look at the sky and pick out her favorite star. He told her that any time she missed him, to look at that star. He said that whenever it blinked, it was her Daddy saying,
“I love you.”
“I love you.”
“I love you.”

So the man went away so he could get better. And he did, but it took a long time.

One day the man took a long rope. He looked at that star for a long time…as it said,
“I love you.”
“I love you.”
“I love you.”

He threw the rope as hard as he could, and hooked it off the star. With his mightiest Tarzan yell he swung.

And he missed.

But he’s a little closer.

And their favorite star still says it every night.
“I love you.”
“I love you.”
“I love you.”

14 thoughts on “The Star

  1. Once in a while, nothing I read makes sense, or makes a connection to me, to anything in me. I come here, and a very few other places then, and I read something you have written that isn’t a movie review [though I like those as well.] Your words make more sense to me than you know.
    I miss your writing. I hope you are well.

    Pearl

Say Something!

