Home

You hate me, and you have your reasons.

With your teeth clenched you curse me and the God who allows me.

Yes, I am a bastard, but I am indiscriminate. I call on some more than others, but I call on everyone, the rich and the poor, the strong and the powerless, the young and the old.

Some actually invite me, use me as a sport. They are missing the point.

Others, the very evil, purposely inflict me on their enemies. Their time will come, and when it does their cries for mercy will go unheeded.

Most try to drown me, or at least dull me. But before you do, think for a moment.

What am I trying to teach you?

I teach you to know when you are in danger, for a life without me is leprosy.

I teach you to be still. To protect the parts of you that are weak.

I teach you to play through me. I challenge your will and make you stronger.

I teach you to dance. I am a lousy dancer, I’m clumsy and I step on your toes, but by compensating for my lack of grace you become more graceful.

And maybe my greatest gift…I teach you to be grateful for every minute you spend without me.

Art: the evolution of generations, originally uploaded by brookeshaden.

9 thoughts on “Your Best Enemy

  1. It’s very hard to call Pain a gift. No one ever wants to make friends with Fear either. Yet everyone, every single one, will meet them both.
    This–“..I am indiscriminate. I call on some more than others, but I call on everyone, the rich and the poor, the strong and the powerless, the young and the old”–says it all. Without pain, we would not live. But It sure does hurt, don’t It?

    I love the way you wrote this. It’s one of those that makes me want to return to it, to see what I see in it, again and again. I hope you won’t mind if I print it.
    Pearl

  2. I see Pearl defined this as pain…I see that…I was thinking of the devil as a metaphor…or evil…or the dark…can’t enjoy the light if there is no dark.

    • Yes, it is a reaction to pain, both physical (I wrote it when my Shingles was at its worst) and emotional; but you make a good point about the contrast between good/evil light/darkness. Like Bono sings in the U2 song ‘God Part II:’
      Don’t believe the Devil
      I don’t believe his book
      But the truth is not the same without the lies he made up.

Say Something!

