Home

And it came to pass in those days, that there went out a decree from WalMart that all the world should buy cheap TVs and waffle irons made by slave labor. And all went to buy cheap items, every one into his own city.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night and eating hormone injected turkey with instant mashed potatoes. And, lo, the CEO of Target came upon them, and the glory of Best Buy shone round about them: and they were sore and afraid.

And the angel of Kmart said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great savings, which shall be to all people who hath credit cards.

For unto you is born this night in the city of Toys “R” Us a sale, which is called Black Friday. And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find other shepherds, truck drivers, and telephone sanitizers in line to purchase cheap shit. You shall also find babes wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in shopping carts because their parents could not find babysitters.

And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising Savings, and saying, Glory to Money in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward corporations.

And it came to pass, as the angels were gone away from them, the shepherds said one to another, Let us now go even unto the mall, and see this thing which is come to pass, which hath been made known unto us.

And they came with haste, and found TVs, waffle irons, Barbies, and pepper spray. And when they had seen it, they made known abroad the saying which was told them concerning this sale. And all they that heard it wondered at those things which were told them by the shepherds.

But some who heard kept all these things, and pondered them in their hearts.

14 thoughts on “The New Nativity

    • Thank you! Maybe someday it will be published somewhere, but for now it’s only for the eyes of my fervent readers.
      For about a minute I thought about posting it on Facebook, but I didn’t want it to become the property of Mark Zuckerberg.

  1. A PERFECT description of what white-male-christian society has to offer. I am going to a sacred Nez Perce longhouse soon, to be cleansed of the contanmination of a whole group of these white-trash, disgusting pieces of filth. Only in rural america could a woman walk thru the horrors I have experienced, by an entire group of these savagely abusive morons.

    • First of all, let me say thank you for the comment and that I am very sorry for the abuse that you have experienced. I don’t want to in any way take away from the reality of that. I do, however, need to begin a dialogue about a couple of things in your comment:

      As a white-male-Christian I do admit that there have been many abuses done in our name, and in the name of Christ. One of these has been the commercialization of the blessed holiday that Christmas SHOULD be. There are many other examples throughout history of the name of Christ being used deceitfully to support evils, from the current hatred of gays on back to opposition of civil rights, slavery, and The Crusades.

      IN NO WAY do I defend these wrongs done by so called “Christians.” I can only ask you to look at the words of Jesus, and at the lives of true Christians who continue to “fight the good fight” here in western culture and abroad to serve the poor and the weak.

      Also, as a Californian currently living in the US South, it’s easy to look down on rural America and the South in particular as a backwards place full of ignorant people. That is MY sin, and it is wrong. It is just as wrong as anyone who would judge someone else by the color of their skin. It is a sin that I still struggle with, but one thing I have realized is that for every person that I see who might fit the stereotypical “white trash” or “redneck” bill, flying their Confederate flag and whatnot, there are 10 wonderful, caring people who try to be kind and considerate of others. Trust me, groups like Southern Poverty Law Center who track hate groups document that California leads the US in the number of hate groups.

      Again, I don’t mean to take away from what you’ve experienced. As a white-male-Christian I ask your forgiveness for the abuses done by others who look like me and claim my faith. I hope and pray that you find peace and cleansing from what has happened to you, and I hope that you will feel welcome to come back and respond to this comment and any other of my posts.

      “Joe”

      • Oh my! Way to take this seriously. I believe that it would be too easy to allow a race or title to personify a particular cruel behavior. To some degree many of us have probably been guilty of this. With myself, if was church people who I allowed to bear the brunt of all humanity’s misbehavior. With some it’s white people, or black people. With you it is/was people from a certain region.The truth is exactly what you said, non of us are exempt from poor behavior. We are all flawed.
        Anyway, I WAS going to say, what a great post. I especially like how you only briefly mentioned the pepper spray. You have a sure talent for humor.

      • Thanks…I felt like this Anonymous comment needed to be taken very seriously and responded to, there was so much pain behind it.
        Glad you enjoyed the post and that you caught the pepper spray reference.

Say Something!

