somnolence V

circling the drain on level six
i don’t want to stay
i can see level seven
looks like heaven
and just as far away

on level seven there are people, and love
(and lots of parking spaces)
a girl for every boy
no one without joy
an exaltation of smiling faces

if there was a ramp, just one level up
i would dive into the mix
but it’s all in vain
i’m circling the drain
still stuck on level six

Artwork: Monkey Gone To Heaven Copyright © Simon Larbalestier 2009 All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “somnolence V

  1. elbrigaking says:

    truely amazing, I love it!
    “circling the drain on level six
    i don’t want to stay
    i can see level seven
    looks like heaven”
    … epic!

  2. Crystal says:

    Another well-done moody piece! Reading this I feel like sipping strong coffee at a French sidewalk cafe while discussing philosophy and poets while cigar smoke rings hang in the air. I haven’t taken up cigars yet but if you were so inclined, I would be your glad companion. :)
    By the way, I haven’t ever noticed level seven and I certainly don’t know anyone who lives there. Its gotta suck to be on level five though!

  3. I know the feeling. Lately, I’ve felt like I’m being sucked down by a whirlpool straight out to the sewer.

    Clever and delightful poem.

Say Something!

