Home

So this is an actual conversation I had with a co-worker last night, he’s a Star Wars enthusiast in his 30s:

Joe: It’s like Bogie said in Casablanca
Star Wars Guy: I’ve never seen Casablanca.
Joe: OK, well. You need to see Casablanca.
SWG: Yeah?
Joe: Yeah. I mean, there are just some movies you need to see, like Casablanca, Citizen Kane
SWG: Have you seen the Star Wars Saga?
Joe: Of course. Dude, I’m old. I saw them when they first came out in the 70s.
SWG: Well, Episode VI: Return of the Jedi came out in 1983.
Joe: Fine. My point is, yes, I’ve seen the Star Wars movies. OK, two things: Number one, the cantina from the first episode…
SWG: You mean the fourth episode.
Joe: Right…so the cantina in the fourth episode was based on Rick’s Café Américain, Humphrey Bogart’s bar in Casablanca.
SWG: Really?
Joe: Absolutely, Lucas was a big fan of Casablanca.

I have no idea if that’s true or not, I just pulled it out of my ass.

Joe: Also, imagine that instead of a war in space it’s World War II here on earth.
Star Wars Guy: OK.
Joe: And instead of the Empire you have Nazis. And there’s this place called Casablanca that’s sort of under the control of the Germans, but is still neutral.
SWG: Like Tatooine.
Joe: Um…right. So there’s Nazis and intrigue and adventure and romance. And the thing with Bogart is you’re not really sure if he’s a good guy or just out for himself. Kind of like Han Solo in the first movie…
SWG: You mean the fourth movie.
Joe: Right. It’s just one of those things that you have to experience culturally. Not having seen it is like…it’s like if you told me you’ve never heard Mozart.
SWG: Well…about that…
Joe: OH MY GOD!!!

Kids today I tell ya…

2 thoughts on “A Conversation with Star Wars Guy

    • It actually gets worse. Aside from being a Star Wars enthusiast (which is understandable) he loves and owns copies of all the Police Academy movies.

      I think he may be a lost cause.

Say Something!

