The Number 187

So what does the number 187 mean?

Wikipedia: 187 is a slang term for the crime of murder; it refers to Section 187 of the California Penal Code, which defines the crime of murder. The number is commonly pronounced by reading the digits separately as “one-eight-seven”, or “one-eighty-seven”, rather than “one hundred eighty-seven”.

The number “187” is reportedly used by gangs throughout the United States as a synonym for murder; this usage has been reported as far away as Florida[1] and Wisconsin.[2]

or…

The Year 187 (CLXXXVII) was a common year starting on Sunday of the Julian calendar. At the time, it was known as the Year of the Consulship of Quintius and Aelianus (or, less frequently, year 940 Ab urbe condita). The denomination 187 for this year has been used since the early medieval period, when the Anno Domini calendar era became the prevalent method in Europe for naming years.

The number 187:

Hmmm, what else?

187 is the population of beautiful Crowley, CO.

Oh…

It’s also the record number of daily views that this blog has ever received. Yesterday my blog had 187 views, breaking the previous record (from December 2009) by 70.

I know that for some bloggers and big time websites that is nothing, but it means a lot to me. To everybody whose eyeballs land on my silly little blog from time to time, I thank you. From the bottom of my heart. I’ll try to keep writing and *ahem* stealing things from other sites that I hope will entertain and occasionally enlighten you.

Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment, even if you don’t like what I have to say. I welcome all comments except for spam and other gross by-products.

Thank you, again. This really means a lot to me.

Joe

4 thoughts on “The Number 187

  1. Crystal says:

    Congratulations! Wow. That is an impressive number of hits! – “Hits” as in number of times someone clicked on your page, as opposed to 187 in street slang. One of these days I should wander back to my blog and see if anything is still growing there. It is no doubt a victim of a 187 by abandonment.
    You truly are an inspiration, Joe!

    • MisplacedBoy says:

      Thanks, Crystal. Don’t worry, I’ve gone through periods where I’ve abandoned this blog and it didn’t die. They’re very hardy, like camels.
      Keep writing!

  2. Phoebe says:

    I gotta go see what a Self Number is now ;)

    Congratulations!
    I know how hard it is to pull people away from Reality TV long enough to Read something; especially if it’s not written on something SHINY!

    Keep at it!
    ^_~

    • MisplacedBoy says:

      All I know is that One is the loneliest number, that’s the limit of my mathematical skills.
      Thank you for your encouragement of my unshiny blog. (I’ve always preferred a matte finish personally)

Say Something!

