Still more fun with Babelfish – Redux

'Babel Fish' by lukehenley

Well, I thought the last time we did this poem that it would be difficult but I had no idea, so let’s try it again using the same poem but a different language.

If you’re new to Babelfish poetry, what we do is we take a reasonably well known poem or literature passage, translate it into a randomly chosen foreign language via Babelfish, then back into English. Then you send me comments with your guesses as to what the poem is and who wrote it.

This time I switched to Italian and you should have no trouble getting it:

in some place I have not never travelled

in some place I have not never travelled, happy here
all l’ experience, your eyes has they Hush:
in your more delicate gesture they are the things enclose that it,
or that I cannot touch because they are too much close

your look minimal easy unclose me
although I like bars have closed same,
petal opened from the same petal I while the motivating force opens
(touching skillful, mysteriously) its first one is always increased

or if your desire is of neighbor, and the
my life will close very in beautiful way, without warning,
like when the heart of this flower imagines
the snow with attention everywhere that it comes down;

nothing that we are to perceive in equal of this world
power of your intense embrittlement: of to who it
forces it structure with the color of the relative countries,
died of the rappresentazione and in order always with that it breathes

(I do not know what is approximately you that it is closed
and is opened; only something in me understands
the voice of your eyes is deeper than all the roses)
nobody, not even the rain, has such small hands

5 thoughts on “Still more fun with Babelfish – Redux

  1. Desiderata by Kahlil Gibran?

  2. misplacedboy says:

    No, sorry, thanks for checking out the blog and for playing though.
    Try again :)

  3. Oh…DUH…Somewhere I have Never Travelled by E.E.Cummings

  4. misplacedboy says:

    Yes!!! I think in the Italian version the last line comes out exactly the same. Good job, BEG!

  5. AptOne says:

    e.e. cummings!! The incomprehensible nemesis of the lower case!

Say Something!

